「The 5th Computational and Cognitive Neuroscience Summer School in Shanghai」

We’re pleased to announce the 5th Computational and Cognitive Neuroscience Summer School which will take place in Shanghai, China from the 5th to the 23rd of July.

Applications are being accepted now on the Cold Spring Harbor Asia website, www.csh-asia.org/summerschool_applinstruct.htm and course information is on the CCN official website www.ccnss.org. The application deadline is March 15.

*** Please note that the expenses of the summer school including tuition fee, housing and meals will be fully waived. ***

Designed to emphasize higher cognitive functions and their underlying neural circuit mechanisms, the course aims at training talented and highly motivated students and postdoctoral fellows from Asia and other countries in the world. Applicants with quantitative (including Physics, Mathematics, Engineering and Computer Science) or experimental background are welcomed. The lectures will introduce the basic concepts and methods, as well as cutting-edge research on higher brain functions such as decision-making, attention, learning and memory. Modeling will be taught at multiple levels, ranging from single neuron computation, microcircuits and large-scale systems, to normative theoretical approach. Python and Matlab-based programming labs coordinated with the lectures will provide practical training in important computational methods.

The summer school is co-organized by Xiao-Jing Wang (NYU & NYU Shanghai), Si Wu (Beijing Normal University), Zach Mainen (Champalimaud Neuroscience Program) and Upi Bhalla (NCBS) and sponsored by Beijing Normal University, East China Normal University, NYU Shanghai, Hugo Shong and the McGovern Institute, and Cold Spring Harbor Asia.

- Xiao-Jing Wang (NYU)
- Zach Mainen (Champalimaud Neurosc. Program)
- Upi Bhalla (Nat. Centre for Biological Sciences)
- Si Wu (Beijing Normal Univ.)

- Bill Newsome (Stanford Univ.)
- Bob Desimone (Massachusetts Inst. of Tech.)
- Gustavo Deco (Univ. Pompeu Fabra)
- Gonzalo G. de Polavieja (Cajal Inst.)
- Kenji Doya (Okinawa Inst. Science Technology)
- Mariano Sigman (Univ. Buenos Aires)
- Michael Breakspear (Queensland Inst. Medical Research)
- Michael Hausser (Univ. College London)
- Misha Tsodyks (Weizmann Inst.)
- Philip Sabes (Univ. California San Francisco)
- Sophie Deneve (Ecole Normale Superieure)

Feel free to direct any questions to: john.murray@nyu.edu