Announcement of 2014 JNS-SfN Exchange Travel Awardees

Announcement of 2014 JNS-SfN Exchange Travel Awardees

The Call for Application of 2014 JNS-SfN Exchange Travel Award, which started from in 2012, was opened from April 4 to May 16 this year. We obtained 40 superb applications and the selection was made by the Committee of International Affairs of the JNS (Member list is indicated below).
We congratulate the following 5 awardees;
Dr. Yuta Aoki (Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo)
Dr. Tomoyasu Horikawa (Advanced Telecommunications Research Institute)
Dr. Makiko Morita (Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine)
Dr. Takaaki Ozawa (RIKEN Brain Science Institute)
Dr. Yuko Numasawa (School of Medicine, Keio University)

The awardees are supposed to attend the International Fellows Orientation Session and International Fellows Poster Session on the first day of the meeting.

The criteria of the selection were below;

  1.  Good abstract and motivation letter. But not only that, the past scientific achievements by the applicants were also evaluated, because the awardees are supposed to attend the special sessions by the SfN as representatives of the JNS.
  2. Basically, decision was made by votes by the committee members (the conflict of interest was considered). However, variety of research fields, affiliations and gender were considered throughout the selection process.
  3.  Initially, this call for applications was founded to support the traveling fee of the young scientists suffering from the outcome of the big earthquake in 2011. However, since we receive a large number of applications, we decided to choose the scientifically best applications.

In the end, for those who are considering of applications next year, we would like to recommend the applicants to try to write a concise summary of your researches in the motivation letter, although we have not used its presence or absence as a criterion for judgment.
If you have any opinions or comments on this award, please contact the JNS office (

June 20, 2014,
The International Affairs Committee of the JNS,
ChairTadashi Isa
MembersAtsushi Iriki
Haruhiko Bito
Noriko Osumi
Hiroyuki Kamiguchi
Yasushi Okamura
Mami Noda