Methods, Neurons, Networks and Behaviors
June 13 – June 30, 2016 Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Japan

The aim of the Okinawa/OIST Computational Neuroscience Course is to provide opportunities for young researchers with theoretical backgrounds to learn the latest advances in neuroscience, and for those with experimental backgrounds to have hands-on experience in computational modeling.

We invite graduate students and postgraduate researchers to participate in the course, held from June 13th through June 30th, 2015 at an oceanfront seminar house of the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University. Applications are through the course web page
( only; January 4 – February 5, 2016.
Applicants will receive confirmation of acceptance in March.

Like in preceding years, OCNC will be a comprehensive three-week course covering single neurons, networks, and behaviors with ample time for student projects. The first week will focus exclusively on methods with hands-on tutorials during the afternoons, while the second and third weeks will have lectures by international experts. The course has a strong hands-on component based on student proposed modeling or data analysis projects, which are further refined with the help of a dedicated tutor. Applicants are required to propose their project at the time of application.

There is no tuition fee. The sponsor will provide lodging and meals during the course and may support travel for those without funding. We hope that this course will be a good opportunity for theoretical and experimental neuroscientists to meet each other and to explore the attractive nature and culture of Okinawa, the southernmost island prefecture of Japan.

Invited faculty:
• Erik De Schutter (OIST)
• Sophie Deneve (École Normale Supérieure, France)
• Kenji Doya (OIST)
• Chris Eliasmith (University of Waterloo, Canada)
• Tomoki Fukai (RIKEN BSI, Japan)
• Michael Häusser (University College London, UK)
• Yukiyasu Kamitani (ATR & Kyoto University, Japan)
• Etienne Koechlin (École Normale Supérieure, France)
• Bernd Kuhn (OIST)
• Partha Mitra (Cold Spring Harbor, USA)
• Astrid Prinz (Emory University, USA)
• John Rinzel (New York University, USA)
• Yoko Yazaki-Sugiyama (OIST)
• more tba