Announcement of 2017 JNS-SfN Exchange Travel Awardees

The Call for Application of 2017 JNS-SfN Exchange Travel Award, which originated in Year 2012, was open from April 1 to May 12 this year. We received a total of 29 applications from a variety of academic and research institutions. The selection process was taken in charge by the International Collaboration Affairs Committee of the JNS (A full member list is indicated below).

We here extend our heartfelt congratulations to the following 5 awardees of the Year 2017:

Kasumi Inokuchi (Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo)
Shuntaro Izawa (Research Institute of Environmental Medicine, Nagoya University)
Nobuhiro Nakai (RIKEN Brain Science Institute)
Toshiki Okubo (Keio University, School of Medicine)
Akira Uematsu (RIKEN Brain Science Institute)

As ambassadors of the JNS, the awardees will attend the International Fellows Orientation Session and International Fellows Poster Session on the first day of the SfN’s Annual Meeting.

The criteria for selection were scientific excellence, as evaluated based on the submitted abstract, essay letter, and the candidates’ CV, and committee members did not participate in the evaluation of a candidate with a conflict of interest. Although this Award was initiated to support young scientists suffering from the outcome of the Great East Japan Earthquake in 2011, it is now recognized as an Award of prestige for young JNS researchers, as demonstrated by the number of outstanding applications we receive. Therefore in recent years, we decided to award the scientifically very best applications.

Please contact the JNS office ( for any feedback or comments about this Award.

June 8th, 2017,

The International Collaboration Affairs Committee of the JNS,
Chair     Haruhiko Bito
Members   Yukiko Goda
        Hiroyuki Kamiguchi
        Kinichi Nakashima
        Yasushi Okamura
        Ken-ichiro Tsutsui
        Yumiko Yoshimura